The Rupertinum, an early Baroque building in the center of the old town, was rebuilt in 1983 by architect Gerhard Garstenauer and reopened as the "Museum of Modern Art and Graphic Collection - Rupertinum". The building was mentioned as early as 1350 and was built in 1633 in the early Baroque style. Under Archbishop Paris Lodron, the Palais Collegium Rupertinum served as a training ground for priests, and until 1974, it was run as a home for students.
In 2016, the exhibition rooms and library of the Rupertinum were redesigned and redeveloped to plans by Kuehn Malvezzi Architects (Berlin / Milan). On the levels  to , the Generali Foundation Study Center with the Franz West Lounge was established in 2016. In the immediate surroundings of the exhibitions, visual experience and research are combined and knowledge made directly tangible. The extensive archives, the library and parts of the collection of the Generali Foundation, brought together as permanent loan with the holdings of the Museum der Moderne Salzburg, are available free of charge
Tue—Sun 10 a.m.—6 p.m.
Wed 10 a.m.—8 p.m.
During the festival season also
Mon 10 a.m.—6 p.m.